Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Ice Cream Emulsifiers


Ice cream produced with a non-kosher emulsifier is itself non-kosher. Where a non-kosher emulsifier was already used, and its non-kosher status was a result of rabbinic law rather than biblical law, then there may be room to permit the resulting ice cream - but one could not utilize this to permit doing so ab initio.

(Rav Moshe Feinstein, Igrot Moshe Yoreh Deah 2:32)

Have a great day,

No comments:

Post a Comment